Ripped-Off Britain

* THE ONE AND ONLY, TRUE AND ORIGINAL, 'RIPPED-OFF' WEBSITE ON THE INTERNET *

SEE THE NEW "INTRODUCE YOURSELF" THREAD: HERE - - and - - LOOK AT OUR NEW "CAR-BUYING GUIDE" SUB-FORUM: HERE

Kids and their oral hygene.

Angie baby
    Field Marshal
    Field Marshal

Number of posts : 2406
    Registration date : 2008-08-30

Kids and their oral hygene.

Post by Angie baby on Sat 29 Aug 2009, 1:08 pm

As a primary teacher I am finding that the oral health of my kids is getting worse rather than better in this modern age. As I go around the class I can tell which of the kids do not brush their teeth or give a damn about the smell on their breath and if I mention it I risk encouraging the others in the class to pick on them.

In this day and age when electric toothbrushes are everywhere and where there are dozens of different kinds of toothpastes and mouthwashes being advertised on the telly I cannot understand why some children just don't seem to realise how important their second set of teeth actually are.

Ok I do realise that there are a lot fewer NHS dentists out there and that many people cannot even get registered with one anywhere near where they stay, but I cannot understand why parents don't take more interest in the oral welfare of their children.

Any ideas ?
    papa_umau
    Field Marshal
    Field Marshal

Number of posts : 12107
    Registration date : 2008-08-23

Re: Kids and their oral hygene.

Post by papa_umau on Sun 30 Aug 2009, 11:55 am

Of course you could always take the child aside and tell them about their breath, as I am sure nobody wants to be accused of having bad breath.