Ripped-Off Britain

* THE ONE AND ONLY, TRUE AND ORIGINAL, 'RIPPED-OFF' WEBSITE ON THE INTERNET *

SEE THE NEW "INTRODUCE YOURSELF" THREAD: HERE - - and - - LOOK AT OUR NEW "CAR-BUYING GUIDE" SUB-FORUM: HERE

Shocked, upset, but not surprised

Nuthin fancy
    Major
    Major

Number of posts : 470
    Registration date : 2015-05-07

Shocked, upset, but not surprised

Post by Nuthin fancy on Thu 28 Jul 2016, 5:08 pm

Hi All,

The following is a very controverial topic, its about access to healthcare. I know a bit about our NHS. I worked in it for over 20 years, then taught healthcare professionals for another 20 at university. My wife is a nurse and Midwife of 40 years experience. We know the system and how it works, but I am now doubting its efficacy.

A few days ago my wife had a severe back strain when she was opening a draw. So much so she was in agony and could not move. It was 7 in the morning, so we decide to ring 111. After giving details the said they would send an ambulance which thery did. The crew decided it as a muscular strain, to take analgesics and call our Dr when they opened at 9am...Off they went.

Called Dr ( wife still imobile )....can you come to the surgry ??...answer no !. Gave a prescriprion over the phone, so I collected it and gave the meds. By this time; and both our efforts, she managed to hobble downstairs and I got her comfotable.

Pain was no better all that day and still bad the next day, despite her trying to mobilise a little. Pain meds not working. Called Gp and he changed them ( no visit, so she had not been examined ). Further 12 hrs. No better ( no red flag symptoms, but still very imobile ).

Drs shut, called 111 at 2pm..advice: DR will call you. 3 Hrs later another change of meds ( no visit )..advice, see you GP.

72 hrs later, still in pain, can hardly walk. Called GP at 9am ....change of meds. Come to the surgery in a day or two's time ( errr....cant walk very well, doubt she will make it )