Ripped-Off Britain

* THE ONE AND ONLY, TRUE AND ORIGINAL, 'RIPPED-OFF' WEBSITE ON THE INTERNET *

SEE THE NEW "INTRODUCE YOURSELF" THREAD: HERE - - and - - LOOK AT OUR NEW "CAR-BUYING GUIDE" SUB-FORUM: HERE

A free market for secondary school places.

Angie baby
    Field Marshal
    Field Marshal

Number of posts : 2473
    Registration date : 2008-08-30

A free market for secondary school places.

Post by Angie baby on Sat 01 Mar 2014, 1:01 pm

Being a teacher I was shocked at just how commercial the education of our kids is becoming these days.

I read a story here: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/educationnews/10668618/School-admissions-up-to-12-pupils-compete-for-each-place.html which said that:

"One in seven children in England around 76,000 are likely to be forced to accept second, third or even fourth-choice schools amid mounting competition between pupils."

It now seems as if the state education system is losing out to the subsidised Academies and faith Schools and private schools even if a number of these schools have had to close recently because they are just not any good at it.

Maybe it is time that the private side and the public side had a clear demarcation line between them as it cannot be right for any private sector school to subsist on taxpayers money.

Comments please.
    papa_umau
    Field Marshal
    Field Marshal

Number of posts : 12351
    Registration date : 2008-08-23

Re: A free market for secondary school places.

Post by papa_umau on Fri 07 Mar 2014, 1:19 pm

I have always said this Angie, as while I am not against private schools or faith schools per-se, I see no reason why these schools should be subsidised by taxpayers money.

The state schools should be places of excellence where the three "Rs" are taught by the best teachers and where the fourth "R", ( religion ), is kept well clear of the impressionable minds of our kids.